School Governance

As an independent school, the Lycée Français de New York is governed by a Board of Trustees whose activities are prescribed by law and ‘good practice’ guidelines set by NYSAIS (New York State Association of Independent Schools – which accredits New York independent schools) and the Board of Regents. Board members volunteer their time and contribute resources to the Lycée. They are not compensated and do not derive any financial benefit from the Lycée.

The Board is responsible for:

  • Oversight of the school’s activities
  • Recruitment and supervision of the Head of School
  • Enacting the Lycée’s mission statement that guides school policies, which are implemented by the school’s administration
  • Review and maintenance of school bylaws and policies consistent with the Lycée’s mission and with the guidelines set by NYSAIS and the Board of Regents
  • The financial operations of the Lycée, including its capital assets, operating budgets, fundraising, and endowment

Lycée Français de New York Board of Trustees

Stephan H. Haimo ‘74, President
J. Dean Amro
Heidi de Bethmann
Matthieu Bucaille
Véronique Christory
Daniel Cruise
Susan Fales-Hill ‘85
Véronique Gabaï-Pinsky
Joan Gabel
Gérard Guillemot
David Jones
David Luttway
Bernard Manuel
Agathe Mordacq
Marie-Noëlle Pierce ‘85
Fadwa Robb
Kate Turley
Peter Vanderslice
Ion Yadigaroglu

Ex Officio Members
Sean Lynch, Head of School
Hong-Tam André, Co-President of the APL
Anne-Lynn Oppenheimer, Co-President of the APL


Stephan Haimo, Chairman of the Lycée Français de New York Board of Trustees and Alumni ‘74.